Sunday, 24 March 2013

Useful Facts about Nobel Prize

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established 
The Prize in Economics, as it is referred to by the Nobel  Foundation, was established and endowed by Sweden's central bank Syeriges  Riksbank  in 1968 on the occasion of the bank's 300th anniversary, in memory of Alfred Nobel
Nobel Prize in Physics 2012
The Nobel Prize in Physics 2012 was awarded jointly to Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2012
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2012 was awarded jointly to Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka "for studies of G-protein-coupled receptors
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012
The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012 was awarded jointly to Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka "for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent
Nobel Prize in Literature 2012
The Nobel Prize in Literature 2012 was awarded to Mo Yan "who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary
Nobel Peace Prizein  Peace 2012
The Nobel Peace Prize 2012 was awarded to European Union (EU) "for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe".
Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic 
Two Americans, Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley, were Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic on Monday for their work on market design and matching theory, which relate to how people and companies find and select one another in everything from marriage to school choice to jobs to organ donations
The  Indian  who  got  Nobel prize

Ronald Ross
Ronald Ross, born in Uttrakhand, , in 1857 was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine  in 1902 for his work on  Malaria
Rudyard Kipling
Rudyard Kipling, born in  Mumbai , 1865 , was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1907
Rabindranath Tagore
Rabindranath Tagore became the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913.
C.V.Raman was born at Thiruvanaikaval, Tamil Nadu. Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics n 1930 for the effect named after him.
Mother Teresa
Awarded the Nobel Prize in Peace -  1979 to Mother Teresa in recognition of her "work in bringing help to suffering humanity
Amartya Kumar Sen  
Amartya Kumar Sen  who was awarded the 1998 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic
Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar,

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar shared the Nobel Prize in Physics 1983 '"for his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, born in Tamil Nadu, shared the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as a US Citizen.
Please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment