Thursday, 18 April 2013

International Gandhi Peace Prize Details from 1995 to 2006

As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Mahatma Gandhi, the Government of India had launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. It is a very prestigious Award and carries an amount of Rs.10 million, a citation and a Plaque. The Award for every year is selected by a Jury under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister

List of award winners from 1995 to 2006
1995 Julius Nyerere

1996 A. T. Ariyaratne

1997 Gerhard Fischer

1998 Ramakrishna Mission

1999 Baba Amte

2000 Nelson Mandela

Grameen Bank Bangladesh

2001 John Hume

2002 Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan

2003 Václav Havel

2004 Coretta Scott King

2005 Desmond Tutu

2006 Shabana Azmi

No comments:

Post a Comment